Wednesday, October 3, 2012

Nelly Furtado gets back to business on new album

Nelly Furtado's hip hop/dance/R&B masterpiece Loose was released six years ago and in that time she recorded a Spanish album and released a greatest hits album with two lame new songs. Furtado is back with her new album The Spirit Indestructible. While Loose was produced almost entirely by Timbaland, Timbo doesn't make a single appearance on this record. Spirit was produced by Darkchild and Salaam Remi.
While the album does have some weak points, altogether it's still an amazing record. Songs like "Circles" and "The Most Beautiful Thing" which features Sara Tavares, a Portuguese singer, are simply weird and "Miracles" is pretty boring but the other songs on the album more than make up for these shortcomings.
Songs like "Big Hoops (Bigger the Better)," "Waiting For The Night" and the title track are all great. "Bucket List" is an adorable song about wanting to fall in love. Another amazing song is the third single "Parking Lot." The song is a banger and recalls Furtado's teenage years hanging out in parkings lots. "High Life" which features Ace Primo is a hip hop song about living the high life. Another great song is "Something" which features Nas.
The best song on this album would have to be "Believers (Arab Spring)." The pop-rock anthem about trying to spread love to the world sounds like Alanis Morrisette covering Lacuna Coil. The song is different from anything Furtado has done and should definitely be a single. It would expose Furtado to a whole new audience.
All in all this album is a huge step forward for Furtado, hopefully it doesn't take her a few more missteps before her next amazing album.

No comments:

Post a Comment